|| In the 1880s and 1890s, stonemason Thomas Broad built several homes in Mason similar to this one, owned by E.J. and Louise Broad from 1891 until they sold it in 1895 to Therese (Marschall) Runge (1855-1946). Her husband, Rudolph Runge (1849-1914), was a German native who became a noted local attorney. The couple's sons, Carl and Roscoe, became prominent lawyers and politicians. The family sold the home in 1946, and subsequent owners have maintained the building's Victorian elements, many of which are common in Thomas Broad's work. These include turned posts and the use of random ashlar stone with unique pointing treatment and articulated quoins.
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 2003