Details for Robinson School

Historical Marker — Atlas Number 5363012525


Marker Number 12525
Atlas Number 5363012525
Marker Title Robinson School
Index Entry Robinson School
City Strawn vicinity
County Palo Pinto
UTM Zone
UTM Easting
UTM Northing
Subject Codes educational topics; educational buildings
Marker Year 2001
Designations Recorded Texas Historic Landmark
Marker Location 6 miles north of Strawn on SH 16
Marker Size 18" x 28"
Marker Text In 1937, Guy U. Robinson led his neighbors to petition the county for a new common school district, in part to protest high school taxes in Strawn. Leo Ankenbauer sold two acres of land to school trustees, and craftsmen Bill Roberson and W. Proctor of Strawn completed this one-room, red brick schoolhouse in time for classes to begin in September 1937. Darker brick at the corners and around the windows and the door provide some ornament to the simple vernacular structure. In use only until 1943, when the number of pupils declined to two, Robinson School is a unique reminder of the county's rural educational history. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 2001