Details for Jones County Courthouse (Atlas Number 5253012415)

Historical Marker — Atlas Number 5253012415


Marker Number 12415
Atlas Number 5253012415
Marker Title Jones County Courthouse
Index Entry Jones County Courthouse
City Anson
County Jones
UTM Zone
UTM Easting
UTM Northing
Subject Codes Arts and Crafts; courthouses; Beaux Arts
Marker Year 2000
Designations Recorded Texas Historic Landmark
Marker Location 11th St. and Commercial (US 277/83), Anson
Marker Size 27" x 42"
Marker Text The Seventh Texas Legislature created Jones County in 1858 and named it for Anson Jones, the last president of the Republic of Texas. The Civil War, Reconstruction, and the area's untamed wilderness combined to postpone the county's formal organization until 1881. Voters selected Jones City, later renamed Anson, as permanent county seat. The first permanent courthouse was a small frame building, which served until the county purchased a hotel in 1884 for use as a courthouse. An 1886 brick courthouse served the county for the next 24 years. In late 1909, the Jones County commissioners court, led by County Judge J. R. Stinson, determined that the growth of the county called for a larger courthouse. They selected Elmer G. Withers of Stamford (15 mi. N) and the Texas Building Company of Fort Worth as architect and contractor, respectively. Completed in 1910, the Jones County courthouse is an excellent example of Beaux Arts styling, with influences from the Arts and Crafts movement found in the decorative painting uncovered during a 1990s rehabilitation on the ceiling of the district courtroom. Other notable features include the statue of Lady Justice atop the domed clock tower and the pedimented porticoes with flanking pairs of Ionic columns on each façade. Constructed of brick and Pecos red sandstone, the Jones County courthouse continues to stand as an important part of Anson's architectural heritage and a center of politics and government for the citizens of the county. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 2000