||LOCKE HILL AUDITORIUM
In 1934, the Federal Works Progress Administration (WPA) built an auditorium on the original Locke Hill school grounds. Federal workers constructed the limestone building out of stone from a nearby quarry. Built to address the county superintendent’s call for school improvements, the auditorium served as a central community space. Following post-war growth, the school’s infrastructure no longer met increased student needs. In 1976, the Locke Hill School was rebuilt less than one mile away to accommodate more students and to meet new building standards. The historic auditorium exists as a longstanding testament to San Antonio’s commitment to education.
RECORDED TEXAS HISTORIC LANDMARK – 2014
MARKER IS PROPERTY OF THE STATE OF TEXAS