|| Brothers Hermann Fischer (1826-1893) and Otto Fischer (1830-1904) emigrated from Germany to Texas in 1849 and 1852, respectively, and settled here in 1853. They built a two-room dogtrot log cabin on the banks of Lake Creek. Through subsistence farming, livestock and wild game, they were able to survive in this remote area.
Following the Civil War, more settlers moved to this region and Hermann established a mercantile business out of his home. In 1855, Hermann married Anna Lindemann (1837-1921). Both his business and family grew quickly and soon the cabin became too small. In the 1870s, the store moved to its second location, a larger building which included a saloon and a post office for “Fischer’s Store.” The store was the social and economic center of the community and helped settlers acclimate to the new area.
In 1902, the current store was built by Hermann Fischer II (1866-1931), and Willie Fischer (1868-1958), selling a wide range of merchandise from small household items to large farm equipment. The building construction features Juniper (Mountain Cedar) piers, Long Leaf Pine beams, tin siding and six-over-six double-hung Cypress frame windows with wavy glass panes. The interior walls are lined with custom shelving. Other unique features include glass display cases and revolving octagonal hardware cabinets.
The original post office equipment and telephone booth remain as a reminder of the building’s initial purpose. As the namesake and heart of the community, Fischer store is a classic example of an early 20th century rural mercantile.
RECORDED TEXAS HISTORIC LANDMARK – 2016