Details for Mills County Courthouse

Historical Marker — Atlas Number 5333012916


Marker Number 12916
Atlas Number 5333012916
Marker Title Mills County Courthouse
Index Entry Mills County Courthouse
Address 1011 Fourth St
City Goldthwaite
County Mills
UTM Zone 14
UTM Easting 540939
UTM Northing 3479343
Subject Codes courthouses
Marker Year 2002
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark Yes
Marker Location Courthouse, 1011 Fourth Street
Private Property No
Marker Condition In Situ
Marker Size Medallion & Plate
Marker Text Mills County Courthouse Mills County was formed in 1887, and citizens built a county jail in Goldthwaite the following year. In 1889, Goldthwaite was chosen county seat, and Oscar Ruffini designed the first courthouse; it served at this site from 1890 through 1912, when it was destroyed by fire. The county hired noted San Antonio architect Henry T. Phelps to design this courthouse, completed in 1913 by the Gordon-Jones Construction Company. Phelps chose the Classical Revival style for the three-story structure with basement, using a rectangular form, a central, ornamental pediment and fluted, engaged columns. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 2002

Location Map